Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

CME’s 2024 Women in Resources Awards winners announced

A crowd of more than 1000 people gathered at the Perth Exhibition and Convention Centre last night to celebrate the inspirational stories highlighted at the 15th annual Chamber and Minerals and Energy of WA (CME) Women In Resources Awards.

CME Chief Executive, Rebecca Tomkinson, said the broad cross-section of the WA mining and resources community represented by the winners highlighted a sector-wide commitment to diversity and inclusion.

“WIRA is very much our sector’s night of nights and the award recipients every year are an inspiration to others,” said Ms Tomkinson.

“Their stories, achievements and leadership qualities show what is possible in WA mining and resources, and also the great benefit that diversity brings to our sector.

“As an industry, we are making progress towards the gender parity we aspire to, with a significant increase in the rate of participation for women compared with a decade ago, but there is still much work to be done.

“More women in resources means a louder voice advocating for an inclusive work environment that benefits from a diversity of problem solving.

“It also means more career options are available to our younger generations, and a more balanced industry workforce means engaged, diverse thinking about what our best energy future can look like.

“By celebrating not only our winners but all our finalists, I hope we can highlight the jobs, career pathways and opportunities available to women in our sector, along with work being undertaken to ensure safe and inclusive workspaces for all of our 157,000-plus employees.”

The 2024 WIRA award recipients are:

Outstanding Company Initiative Award

Monadelphous – Crane Operations Pathway Traineeship Program

Bio available

Women in Resources Technological Innovation Award

Evelyn Ng, Callidus Group

Bio available

Outstanding Operator / Technician / Trade Award

Dianne Deegan, Inpex

Bio available  

Outstanding Young Woman in Resources

Eliza Dennis, Shell Australia

Bio available  

Outstanding Woman in Resources

Josie Fourie, Woodside Energy

Bio available  

Women in Resources Champion Award

Vivienne Chan, Chevron

Bio available  

Peoples’ Choice Award

Lily Meneghel, Roy Hill

Bio available  

<ENDS> Media contact: Natasha Mutch