Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Inspirational Women in WA’s Resources Sector

There are many outstanding women making a contribution to WA’s resource sector and the Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (CME) wants the public to choose one of the best.

CME Chief Executive Reg Howard-Smith was pleased to announce the individuals and the company initiatives selected as finalists for the awards, to be presented at a breakfast on 8 March, coinciding with International Women’s Day.

“The awards attract outstanding nominations which highlight the inspirational women we have working here in Western Australia, and the work the companies are undertaking to support female participation. Such high calibre nominations made it really challenging for our judging panel to select the finalists.” Mr Howard-Smith said.

“CME research indicates the number of women employed in the resource sector has grown from 18 to 22 per cent of the total workforce over the past five years.  While the sector’s workforce has long been male-dominated, this is changing bit by bit, year by year.  And the finalists in these awards epitomise this change.

“A strong theme through the applications was the role of mentoring and peer support, through formal and informal structures.

“Many of the finalists have five, ten or twenty years-plus experience in the sector and are leading the way for generations of resource women to follow.”

Members of the public are encouraged to read more about each finalist and vote for the woman they feel has made the most outstanding contribution to the resources sector.

The categories and finalists for the CME Women in Resources Awards 2013 are:

Outstanding Company Initiative

  • Inclusion Steering Committee – Alcoa of Australia
  • Women in Engineering – Chevron
  • Fast Track Program – Macmahon and Rio Tinto
  • Digging for Diversity – Rio Tinto

Outstanding Technician/Operator/Trade Woman

  • Rachel Cameron (Downer EDI Mining)
  • Jodie Gray (Newmont)
  • Lisa Mirtopolous (Dump Truck Discovery/Newmont)

Outstanding Young Professional Woman

  • Maree Ansey (Leighton Contractors Mining Division)
  • Lisa Butler (Squire Sanders)
  • Sarah Coleman (Improvement Resources)
  • Johanna Cowell (Barrick Australia)
  • Alana Gallagher (BHP Billiton Nickel West)
  • Jenna Robertson (Chevron)

Outstanding Professional Woman

  • Patricia Durance (KalNorth Gold Mines Ltd)
  • Vanessa Guthrie (Toro Energy)
  • Pricilla Hubbard (Woodside Energy)
  • Julie Morgan (Woodside Energy)
  • Julie Shuttleworth (Barrick Australia)
  • Lucy Stocker (Rio Tinto)

Women in Resources Champion

  • Kaye Butler (Chevron)
  • Julie Shuttleworth (Barrick Australia)
  • Paula West (Alcoa of Australia)