Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

CME’s 2023 Women in Resources Awards winners announced

The power and value of gender diversity has again been celebrated by the West Australian mining and resources sector, with the staging of the 14th annual Chamber and Minerals and Energy of WA (CME) Women In Resources Awards.

A crowd of more than 1000 people gathered at the Perth Exhibition and Convention Centre on Friday night to see women from Rio Tinto, Woodside Energy, BHP and South32 recognised for their inspiring career stories and outstanding achievements in the individual award categories.

Mike Erickson from AngloGold Ashanti won the Women in Resources Champion Award for his work in driving opportunities for women within the organisation, while Rio Tinto took home the Outstanding Company Initiative Award.

CME CEO Rebecca Tomkinson said the broad cross-section of the WA mining and resources community represented by the winners highlighted a sector-wide commitment to diversity and inclusion.

“WIRA is very much our sector’s night of nights and our winners this year are a truly inspirational group,” Ms Tomkinson said.

“Their stories, achievements and leadership qualities show what is possible in WA mining and resources, and also the great benefit that gender diversity brings to our sector.

“As an industry, we are making progress towards the gender parity we aspire to, however, as our latest Diversity and Inclusion Report shows, there is still much work to be done.

“By celebrating not only our winners but all our finalists, I hope we can highlight the jobs, career pathways and opportunities available to women in our sector, along with work being undertaken to ensure safe and inclusive workspaces for all of our 157,000-plus employees.”

The 2023 WIRA winners are:

Outstanding Company Initiative Award
Rio Tinto

Women in Resources Technological Innovation Award
Samantha Langley, BHP

Outstanding Operator / Technician / Trade Award

Melinda Clarke, Woodside Energy

Outstanding Young Woman in Resources

Kelsie Clarke, Woodside Energy

Outstanding Woman in Resources

Chantel Westley, Rio Tinto

Women in Resources Champion Award

Michael Erickson, AngloGold Ashanti

Peoples’ Choice Award

Sandy Sibenaler, South32

Media Contact
Fraser Beattie

0421 505 557

NB. Editors please note photos of the winners are available upon request.