Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

CME hosts MPs on tour of key Pilbara operations

CME recently hosted 15 WA Labor MPs and four staffers on a familiarisation tour of the Pilbara region.  The aim of the tour was to enable guests to gain first-hand insight into the resources industry’s world-class operations in the Pilbara, which provide significant employment and economic support to our communities.  The two-day tour was specially designed for first-term parliamentarians to cover  various  commodities including iron ore, gas, ammonia and associated infrastructure.  The tour included visits to townships and cultural heritage sites. Regional stakeholders and guests also joined the tour group for an industry dinner in Karratha.  

Passionate industry employees showcased their facilities, explained complex processing systems, local training and employment opportunities, and transition plans to using renewable energies.

Tour highlights included viewing the modern and efficient Woodside Pluto gas processing facility, discovering how Yara Pilbara converts a processing by-product to fertiliser for the Pilbara agriculture industry, driving around Fortescue Metals Group’s enormous solar farm and understanding how BHP’s Newman autonomous haulage system has reduced their carbon footprint by increasing excavation efficiencies, resulting in a reduced number of trucks required on site.  Furthermore, green energy was the talk of the tour.  No doubt, now is an exciting time to be part of our industry and State’s transformation to cleaner processes and a cleaner future.

A special thanks to Mr Kevin Michel MLA who worked with CME to facilitate the tour and showcase his home region to his fellow parliamentarians.

MPs who took part in the tour were: Klara Andric MLC (Member for the South Metropolitan Region), Stuart Aubrey MLA (Member for Scarborough), Geoff Baker MLA (Member for South Perth), Hannah Beazley MLA (Member for Victoria Park), Caitlin Collins MLA (Member for Hillarys), Peter Foster MLC (Member for Mining and Pastoral Region), Meredith Hammat MLA (Member for Mirrabooka), Lorna Harper MLC (Member for the East Metropolitan Region), Jackie Jarvis MLC (Member for the South West Region), Hugh Jones MLA (Member for Darling Range), Jagadish Krishnan MLA (Member for Riverton), Paul Lilburne MLA (Member for Carine), Lisa O’Malley MLA (Member for Bicton), Stephen Pratt MLC (Member for the South Metropolitan Region).

Contact: Susan Cull, State Manager – Regional WA